Through the Eyes of My Cat

Through the eyes of my cat, I am a provider. Provider of food. Provider of comfort. Provider of shelter.

Through the eyes of my cat, I am a lover. Lover of snuggles. Lover of playtime. Lover of blanket forts.

dsc_0747

Through the eyes of my cat, I am beautiful. Strong. Funny. Compassionate. I have a soothing voice and a kind face.

dsc_0899

Through the eyes of my cat, I can be stern. Sometimes disapproving. Sometimes bossy. Sometimes sad.

dsc_0122

Through the eyes of my cat, I am a protector. I am a friend. I am a companion.

Through the eyes of my cat, I am perfect. I am worthy. I am love.

dsc_0823

Through the eyes of my cat, I can do no wrong. I am a place of comfort. A warm body. A soft kiss. I am gentle. Thoughtful. Caring. Loving. I am home. I am mama.

dsc_0936

When I think of myself through the eyes of my cat, I am everything I could ever wish to be. My cat sees so much beauty in me, so much goodness, that I must accept it to be true. Therefore, I declare that I am all of these things. These beautiful things. When I think of myself through the eyes of my cat, I am enough. I am worthy enough to go out into the world and shine. To spread my love and my warmth and my kindness to those around me. Maybe we should all try to give ourselves to the world in the same way we give ourselves to our cats. Maybe we should open our hearts wide to the world, allowing all of the goodness inside of us to spill out into the streets, washing away all the pain, and the fear, and the self-doubt. Maybe we can learn the act of self-love from our feline friends. And maybe then the world will see us the same way we are seen through the eyes of our cats, simultaneously feeling the joy of being a cat and the joy of being loved by a cat. Because maybe the simple act of loving and being loved is enough to melt away all the cold hatred in this world. Maybe love, from a cat or otherwise, is the answer.

Maybe, just maybeโ€ฆ L O V E is all we need.

DSC_0044.jpg

(**Photos of Milo & Clarkson by Me)

xoxo nicol.eliz

Leave a Reply

